Scotiabank Gold American Express® CardScotiabank Gold American Express® CardEarn up to 50,000 bonus Scene+ points + no annual fee in your first year

Pay Rent by Credit Card in Canada: 4 Platforms Compared

Pay Rent by Credit Card in Canada: 4 Platforms Compared
Share

Paying rent with a credit card in Canada always goes through an intermediary platform, never through the landlord directly. Four services make it possible: Chexy, Casa, Neobanc and TenantPay. Fees range from 0% to 2.75% depending on the card and the platform. That percentage alone decides whether your rent earns you money or costs you money.

Everywhere in Canada, Quebec included, Chexy remains the simplest way to pay rent with a credit card. The fee is 1.75%, every Canadian card is accepted, and the landlord has nothing to set up. This guide compares the four platforms and calculates the break-even point on a real rent. It then tells you which credit card deserves that payment.

Pay rent with a credit card: is it worth it?

Rent paid by card pays off as soon as the card’s return beats the platform’s fee. On a $2,000 monthly rent, or $24,000 a year, a 1.75% fee adds up to $420. That is the number to beat.

The table below runs that math for three rents and five ways to pay. The real return of each card, and the condition attached to it, comes in the sections that follow.

Way to pay$1,500 rent$2,000 rent$2,500 rent
Chexy at 1.75% with a 1% cash back card-$135 a year-$180 a year-$225 a year
Chexy at 1.75% with a card earning 2% on recurring payments+$45 a year+$60 a year+$75 a year
Chexy at 1.75% with the TD Cash Back Visa Infinite* Card at 3%, $139 annual fee deducted+$86 a year+$161 a year+$236 a year
TenantPay at 1.75% with a 1% card, plus its own points estimated at 0.5% to 1%-$45 to +$45-$60 to +$60-$75 to +$75

Two conclusions come out of this table. First, a card that returns 1% on rent loses money against a 1.75% fee, without exception. Second, the 3% of the TD Cash Back Visa Infinite* Card only applies if the issuer classifies the charge as a recurring bill payment. TD defines that category by the code transmitted through the Visa network.

4 platforms to pay rent by credit card

Each platform charges your card, then sends the rent to your landlord by Interac e-Transfer or pre-authorized debit. Three of them work with any landlord. The fourth requires your property manager to already be a client.

CriterionChexyCasaNeobancTenantPay
Visa fee1.75%1.75%, or 0% with the ScotiaGold Passport Visa1.50% to 2.25%1.75%
Mastercard fee1.75%1.75%1.50% to 2.25%2.75%
American ExpressAccepted, 1.75%Not acceptedAcceptedAnnounced, not yet offered
International cards2.5%2.4%Not specifiedNot specified
Landlord must sign upNoNoNoYes, account number provided by the property manager
Payment to the landlordInterac, pre-authorized debit or bill payInterac, pre-authorized debit announcedInteracThrough the property manager
Available in QuebecYesNo, everywhere in Canada except QuebecYesYes
Rent reported to your credit fileEquifax, included in Chexy PlusMentioned, no detailsOn request, bureau not specifiedEquifax, with autopay
Other paymentsTaxes, bills, tuition; mortgage by debit onlyCondo feesBills, mortgageRent only

Two platforms actually compete for the market. Chexy has processed more than $2 billion in payments since 2023 for more than 200,000 users, according to Radio-Canada. Casa, launched with Scotiabank in March 2026, charges the same 1.75% and adds condo fees. Neobanc and TenantPay complete the picture without a decisive edge on fees.

Zenbase, often cited in the same searches, does not play in this category: it refuses credit cards for rent. Its service splits the payment in two instalments, for $9.90 a month plus 0.75% of the rent, and reports rent to Equifax for $3 a month. It suits the tenant who wants to build credit, not the one who wants points.

Outside Quebec: Casa, an alternative to Chexy

Casa works like Chexy: a 1.75% fee on Canadian Visa and Mastercard cards, 1% on debit cards and 2.4% on international cards. The landlord is paid by Interac e-Transfer, within 2 to 5 business days. Casa drops its fee to 0% for a single card, the ScotiaGold Passport Visa Card; with any other card, the math is the same as with Chexy.

The Casa and Scotiabank launch release states that the platform is available across Canada, excluding Quebec. Quebec tenants go through Chexy. The details of the partnership are in Casa and Scotiabank: Scene+ points on rent.

Everywhere in Canada, Quebec included: Chexy

Chexy works with every landlord, in every province and territory. You enter the amount, the date and how your landlord receives the money. Chexy charges your card four business days before the agreed date. The rent then goes out by Interac e-Transfer, pre-authorized debit or bill pay.

The fee is 1.75% on any Visa, Mastercard or American Express card issued in Canada, and 2.5% on an international card. Two ways to bring it down:

  • Referrals: 3 referred people bring the fee to 1.5%, 5 people to 1%, 10 people to 0.5%. Each referred person who makes a first payment also adds $15 to your Chexy balance.
  • Chexy Plus on the annual plan: $200 a year for a 1.5% fee, free Rush payments and the credit builder. On a $2,000 rent, the fee saving reaches $60 a year, which does not cover the subscription. The plan is justified by the other perks, not by the fee.

The two discounts do not stack: Chexy applies the better of the two. The step-by-step setup, the screenshots and our own experience using it are in the full Chexy review for paying rent by credit card.

Smiling couple checking a bill payment app on a phone in a modern living room

Which credit card to use with Chexy

The right card for rent is the one whose return beats 1.75%, and the central question is the recurring bill payments category. Several issuers pay 2% or 3% on it, but each one decides what goes in. Chexy’s monthly charge is set up as an automatic payment. The code transmitted by the card network determines the rate applied on your statement.

The benchmark to know: the Scotia Momentum® Visa Infinite +* Card paid 4% on recurring bill payments, rent included. As of October 22, 2026, Scotiabank moves rent and taxes back to the regular 1% rate. We detail the end of the Scotia Momentum 4% on rent and taxes. Here is what remains on the market.

TD Cash Back Visa Infinite* Card: 3% on recurring bills

The TD Cash Back Visa Infinite* Card offers the best remaining rate: 3% cash back on recurring bill payments. The rate applies to the first $15,000 in annual purchases in the category, then drops to 1%. On a $2,000 rent, that 3% is worth $720 a year, against $420 in Chexy fees and a $139 annual fee: a net gain of $161. The income requirement is $60,000 personal or $100,000 household.

TD defines a recurring bill payment as a transaction the Visa network classifies as such, pre-authorized with a merchant. A Chexy charge may receive that code, or the code of a regular purchase at 1%. Run a first trial month and read the category on your statement before relying on the 3%.

Annual fee
$0 $139
No annual fee the first year
Our valuation
$489
Milesopedia first-year estimateFirst-year valueWelcome bonus$350Annual fee rebated$139Total$489Rewards on your spending are not included. The calculator that adds them from your own profile is on the card's page.
Welcome offer
Up to $350
+ First Year Annual Fee Rebate
Apply Now

on TD's website

With the TD Cash Back Visa Infinite* Card, you earn 3% in Cash Back Dollars on:

  • Grocery stores
  • Gas, EV charging and public transit
  • Recurring bills, streaming services, digital media and games

And 1% cash back on all other purchases.

It’s the best TD cash back credit card, especially for gas purchases.

With this new welcome offer, you could earn 10% cash back on gas and grocery purchases and pre-authorized payments for the first three months (up to $3,500 in purchases). So you can earn up to $350 cash back, for a total value of up to $600 once the first-year Annual Fee rebate is included!

Plus, an Annual Fee rebate for the first year for the Primary and Additional Cardholders.

Finally, you have good insurance coverage, such as travel medical insurance, delayed or lost baggage insurance, collision/loss damage insurance for car rentals and mobile device insurance.

Annual fee

Primary card$139
Additional card$0

Annual income required

Individual$60,000
Household$100,000

Conversion fees

2.5%

Earning rate

  • 3xGroceries
  • 3xGas & EV
  • 3xTransit
  • 3xBills & recurring payments
  • 3xStreaming
  • 1xAll spending

Value

1st Year Value$1,034
2nd Year Value$341

Card benefits

Concierge service24/7

Travel insurance

Travel medical (under 55)Up to $2,000,000 / 10 days
Travel medical (55-64)Up to $2,000,000 / 10 days
Travel medical (65+)Up to $2,000,000 / 4 days
Delayed BaggageUp to $1,000
Lost BaggageUp to $1,000

Purchase protection

Purchase ProtectionIncluded
Extended Warranty+1 years
Mobile DeviceUp to $1,000
Auto Rental CollisionUp to $65,000 / 48 days

Tangerine Money-Back World Mastercard: 2% with no annual fee

The Tangerine Money-Back World Mastercard® lets you choose two categories at 2% cash back, three if you deposit the cash back into a Tangerine savings account. Recurring bill payments are on the list. With no annual fee, the net gain on a $2,000 rent is $60 a year, provided Tangerine classifies the Chexy charge in that category. The income requirement is $50,000.

It is the easiest of the three cards to get, and the only one that costs nothing to test the strategy. If the rent posts at the 0.5% base rate, you lose $300 a year. The first-month test matters as much as with TD.

Annual fee
$0
Our valuation
$100
Milesopedia first-year estimateFirst-year valueWelcome bonus$100Total$100Rewards on your spending are not included. The calculator that adds them from your own profile is on the card's page.
Welcome offer
Up to $100
Ends Sep 30, 2026
Apply Now

on Tangerine's website

If you have an individual income of $60,000 or a household income of $80,000, you can choose the Tangerine® Money-Back World Mastercard®*.

This credit card has no annual fee and allows you to earn cash back on your everyday purchases. With the current offer, you can get $100 when you spend $1,500 within your first three months††.

You get 2% unlimited cash back in 2 categories of your choice and 0.5% on all your other purchases. Plus, you can unlock a third 2% category when your cash back is deposited into a Tangerine Savings Account.

Choose from 13 spending categories (groceries, gas, restaurants, and more) and change them every 90 days to match your habits.

The card also includes useful protections, including purchase assurance and extended warranty5, as well as mobile device insurance and coverage for rental vehicles5.

Finally, you can transfer high-interest credit card balances and enjoy a promotional rate of 1.95% for 6 months (a 1% transfer fee applies)11.

Save on fuel with Shell

All Tangerine cardholders can get savings and rewards on fuel with Shell and Scene+ when you link your cards to your Shell Go+ account. Get up to 8¢/L in value with a linked Money-Back World Mastercard or Money-Back Credit Card:

  • Instant savings of 3¢ per litre on all grades of Shell fuel.
  • Earn up to 3¢ per litre in cash back with fuel selected as a 2% category.
  • Earn 1¢ per litre in Scene+ points value on all grades of Shell fuel, or 2¢ per litre in Scene+ points value on Shell V-Power® when you link your Scene+ Account to Shell Go+.

Annual fee

Primary card$0
Additional card$0

Annual income required

Individual$50,000
Household$80,000

Conversion fees

2.5%

Earning rate

  • 2xGroceries
  • 2xGas & EV
  • 0.5xAll spending

Value

1st Year Value$415
2nd Year Value$246

Purchase protection

Purchase ProtectionIncluded
Extended Warranty+1 years
Mobile DeviceIncluded
Auto Rental CollisionIncluded

Two strategies that always pay off

Chexy’s fee becomes negligible as soon as the rent serves to unlock a bonus. Two mechanisms make that possible, and the two stack.

Rent to reach a welcome offer

A welcome offer often requires $3,000 to $6,000 in purchases within three months. A $2,000 rent paid through Chexy meets that threshold in two or three months. The fee: $35 a month. Welcome offers apply to all purchases, with no category distinction: rent counts the same as groceries.

The American Express Cobalt® Card illustrates that math. On the rent itself, it earns 1 point per dollar, a return below the fee. Its value comes from the welcome offer and from the 5 points per dollar on groceries and restaurants, which the rent helps you unlock. It has no minimum income requirement.

Annual fee
$191.88
Our valuation
$255
Milesopedia first-year estimateFirst-year valueWelcome bonus$255Total$255Rewards on your spending are not included. The calculator that adds them from your own profile is on the card's page.
Welcome offer
Up to 15,000 points
Apply Now

on American Express's website

Apply with confidence — no impact on your credit scoreApply with confidenceCheck whether your application will be approved before you submit it, with no impact on your credit score*When you apply for a personal American Express Credit Card, we will tell you whether you are eligible without affecting your credit score. So you can apply with confidence.*Instant decisions are only available for consumer Card applications (also called “personal Cards”).

The American Express Cobalt® Card is the best credit card from American Express, whether you want points for travel or cash back.

American Express Cobalt® Card welcome offer

The welcome bonus is paid out monthly over your first 12 months. You earn 1,250 Membership Rewards points for each monthly billing period in which you charge $750 in net purchases to your card, in any category (1X, 2X, 3X or 5X). That adds up to 15,000 Membership Rewards points over the year, a welcome offer we value at $255.

Earning the full bonus means $9,000 in net purchases spread across 12 monthly billing periods. This offer rewards steady monthly spending rather than one large purchase.

You can use these points as statement credits on everyday or travel purchases, at the same rate either way: 1,000 points = $10.

You can also transfer them to Aeroplan, Avios (British Airways and Qatar Airways), Flying Blue, Marriott Bonvoy or Hilton Honors. With the full welcome bonus, that is a choice between:

  • 15,000 Aeroplan points
  • 15,000 Avios points
  • 15,000 Flying Blue Miles
  • 18,000 Marriott Bonvoy points

If hotel points are what you are after, our ultimate guide to Marriott Bonvoy and our complete map of Marriott Bonvoy hotels by category show what those points can actually buy.

American Express Cobalt® Card benefits

Here is what the card gives you, starting with the benefits cardholders use most.

  • 5X points on eligible eats and drinks in Canada: groceries, restaurants and bars, home food delivery and convenience stores. A spend cap applies.
  • 3X points on eligible streaming subscriptions in Canada.
  • 2X points on eligible gas, public transit and ride sharing purchases in Canada.
  • 1 additional point on eligible hotel and car rental bookings made through American Express Travel Online.
  • 1X point per dollar on everything else, with no category restrictions.
  • Points that hold the same value either way: 1,000 points = $10 as a statement credit, or a 1:1 transfer to several airline and hotel loyalty programs.
  • No minimum income requirement, as with every American Express Canada card.
  • Additional cards at no extra cost: the first and every other supplementary card is $0.
  • The Hotel Collection: a room upgrade when available, 12pm check-in and late check-out when available, and up to $100 USD in hotel credit on amenities charged to the room for a stay of two or more consecutive nights, booked through American Express Travel.
  • Front Of The Line® presale and reserved tickets for concerts and theatre performances, plus offers and events curated for cardmembers through Amex Experiences.
  • A soft credit check before you apply: you can see whether you will be approved with no impact to your credit score. This applies to American Express personal card applications.

To see how it compares with the rest of the line-up, read our round-up of the best credit cards from American Express in Canada.

The 5X categories and where they apply

The 5X rate is the reason most people carry this card. In Canada it covers four kinds of merchants:

  • Groceries: Metro, IGA, Sobeys, Super C, Safeway, Whole Foods.
  • Restaurants and bars: sit-down meals, takeout and drinks.
  • Home food delivery.
  • Convenience stores: Couche-Tard, 7-Eleven.

The 2X rate covers gas stations such as Esso, Shell and Petro-Canada, along with public transit and ride sharing.

With the American Express Cobalt® Card, you earn between 1 and 5 points per dollar:

Category Points per dollar
Grocery (Metro, IGA, Sobeys, Super C, etc.) 5
Home food delivery 5
Restaurants and bars 5
Convenience stores 5
Streaming services 3
Service station 2
Transport 2
Travel 1
Other 1

That works out to a 1 to 5% return on those purchases. For example, if you spend $1,000 per month across groceries, restaurants and food delivery, you earn $50 back per month, or $600 per year from that category alone. Transfer the points to a program such as Aeroplan instead and the return can be higher.

You can also stack these categories with the hundreds of stores that offer 5x points.

American Express Cobalt® Card insurance coverage

The card comes with a broad insurance package. The amounts below are the coverage limits; conditions, age limits and exclusions are set out in the certificate of insurance linked in the Insurance section above.

Travel insurance

  • Emergency medical: up to $5,000,000 for the first 15 days of a trip.
  • Travel accident: accidental death and dismemberment of up to $250,000 for you, your spouse and dependent children under age 23 when travelling on a common carrier (plane, train, bus or ship) and the tickets are charged to your card. Supplementary cardholders and their families are covered too.
  • Flight delay: up to $500 for necessary hotel, meal and sundry expenses bought within 48 hours when you are delayed or denied boarding for four hours or more and no other transportation is available. This $500 is an aggregate limit per occurrence, shared with missed connection and delayed baggage coverage.
  • Delayed baggage: up to $500 for essential clothing and sundries bought within four days when your outbound luggage is delayed six hours or more. This $500 is an aggregate limit per occurrence, shared with missed connection and flight delay coverage.
  • Lost or stolen baggage: up to $500 per occurrence for all insured persons combined, for checked or carry-on baggage and personal effects in transit, when the airline tickets are charged to your card. Within that limit, jewellery is capped at $300 per occurrence and golf clubs, including golf bags, at $250 per occurrence.
  • Hotel and motel burglary: up to $500 against the loss of most personal items if your hotel or motel is burglarized, when the stay is charged to your card.

Rental car insurance

Theft and damage coverage is included for a rental car with an MSRP, for its model year, of up to $85,000 excluding all taxes, for rentals of up to 48 days. To use it, decline the Loss Damage Waiver (LDW) or any similar option from the rental company and charge the full rental to your card. There is no cost for this coverage, and it replaces the daily insurance the rental company charges, usually $16 to $23 per day.

Mobile device insurance

Your device is covered for up to $1,000 per occurrence when it is charged to the card, for up to two years from the date of purchase. The payout is based on the depreciated value of the device, which falls by 2% of the purchase price for every completed month, less a 10% deductible. Theft and accidental damage coverage starts on the 91st day after purchase, because the first 90 days are covered by purchase protection.

Purchase protection and extended warranty

Eligible items charged to your card are insured against accidental physical damage or theft for 90 days from the purchase date, up to $1,000 per occurrence for all items combined. The card also extends the original manufacturer’s warranty by up to one additional year on eligible items, with indemnification limited to $10,000 per insured item and $25,000 per Cardmember per policy year for all items combined.

American Express Cobalt® Card fees

  • Card fee: $15.99 per month, which equals $191.88 per year, for residents outside Quebec. Quebec residents are billed $191.88 per year.
  • Additional cards: $0.
  • Purchase interest rate: 21.99%.
  • Cash advance interest rate: 21.99%.
  • Foreign transaction fee: 2.5%.
  • Minimum income required: none.

Because the fee is billed monthly rather than in one annual charge, you can stop and restart the cost in step with how much you are actually using the card.

Annual fee

Primary card$191.88
Additional card$0

Annual income required

Individual$0
Household$0

Conversion fees

2.5%

Earning rate

  • 5xRestaurants
  • 5xGroceries
  • 5xConvenience
  • 3xStreaming
  • 2xTransit
  • 2xGas & EV
  • 1xAll spending

Value

1st Year Value$1,828
2nd Year Value$799

Transfer partners

  • AeroplanAirline
  • British Airways ClubAirline
  • Cathay Asia MilesAirline
  • Etihad GuestAirline
  • Flying BlueAirline
  • Hilton HonorsHotel
  • Marriott BonvoyHotel

Travel insurance

Travel medical (under 55)Up to $5,000,000 / 15 days
Travel medical (55-64)Up to $5,000,000 / 15 days
Delayed BaggageUp to $500
Lost BaggageUp to $500
Flight DelayUp to $500
Hotel BurglaryUp to $500
Travel AccidentUp to $250,000

Purchase protection

Purchase ProtectionUp to $1,000 / 90 days
Extended Warranty+1 years
Mobile DeviceUp to $1,000 / 2 years
Auto Rental Collision (primary)Up to $85,000 / 48 days

Chexy’s partner promotions

Chexy regularly adds points on top of the card’s own. The current offer with American Express pays 500 points per payment of at least $1,000, twice a month. The cap is 6,000 points a year, and the offer runs until October 31, 2026. Eligible cards are The Platinum Card, the Gold Rewards Card, the Aeroplan Reserve Card and the Air Canada Card from American Express, according to the terms published by Chexy.

On a $2,000 rent paid in a single instalment with an Aeroplan card, that is 500 extra points a month. At our valuation of 2 cents per Aeroplan point, that is worth $10. Added to the card’s point per dollar, they tip the rent into positive territory. These offers change through the year: the current Aeroplan promotions and the complete Chexy guide to paying bills by credit card track the current ones.

Rent and your credit file: what each platform reports

Rent paid on time can strengthen your credit file, provided a platform reports it to a credit bureau. It is a benefit distinct from points, useful to newcomers, students and anyone preparing a mortgage application.

  • Chexy: reporting to Equifax through the credit builder, now included in Chexy Plus, at $20 a month or $200 a year. Users who had activated it before June 19, 2026 keep it at no charge.
  • Neobanc: reporting on request, visible on your file 30 to 45 days after the payment, with no bureau specified.
  • TenantPay: reporting to Equifax included with autopay.
  • Zenbase: reporting to Equifax for $3 a month, and to both bureaus in partner buildings, with no credit card.

If your credit score is the main goal, choose on that criterion and not on points. To understand the real effect of reported rent, read how to improve your credit score.

The limits to know before you start

Paying by card works for the vast majority of tenants. Four situations call for a check before the first payment.

  • The landlord must accept Interac e-Transfer or pre-authorized debit. A landlord who requires a cheque cannot receive a Chexy, Casa or Neobanc payment.
  • Processing takes 2 to 5 business days. Schedule the charge a week before the rent date, especially the first month.
  • Your credit limit must absorb the rent on top of your usual spending, without going past 30% utilization if you care about your score.
  • The fee is added to the amount charged to the card. On a $2,000 rent, Chexy charges $2,035: plan for that margin in your credit limit and in your budget.

Claire Célérier holds the Canada Research Chair in Household Finance at the University of Toronto. She sums up the risk in Radio-Canada’s report: these platforms reward those who already have the money and put those who do not into debt. The math in this article only holds for a balance paid in full, every month.

Conclusion

Paying rent with a credit card pays off in two specific cases. First: reaching a welcome offer. Second: a card that earns at least 2% on recurring bill payments. In every other case, the 1.75% fee eats the cash back.

Outside Quebec, Casa is an alternative for rent, and Chexy keeps the edge for taxes, bills and partner promotions. In Quebec, Chexy is the platform to pick, with referrals to bring the fee down. To choose the card that goes with that strategy, see our page of the best credit cards in Canada.

To receive our analyses every week, subscribe to our newsletter.

Pay rent with a credit card – Frequently asked questions

Here are questions frequently asked in the milesopedia community about paying rent with a credit card.

Can you pay rent with a credit card in Canada?

Yes, through a platform such as Chexy, Casa or Neobanc. You pay the platform by card, and it sends the rent to your landlord by Interac e-Transfer or pre-authorized debit. The landlord has nothing to set up and pays no fee.

How much does it cost to pay rent with a credit card?

Chexy charges 1.75% on Canadian cards, Casa 1.75% as well, Neobanc 1.50% to 2.25% and TenantPay 1.75% on Visa or 2.75% on Mastercard. On a $2,000 rent, 1.75% comes to $35 a month.

Which credit card earns the most on rent?

The TD Cash Back Visa Infinite* Card offers 3% on recurring bill payments, if the issuer classifies the charge in that category. The Tangerine Money-Back World Mastercard gives 2% with no annual fee in the same category. A 1% card loses money against a 1.75% fee.

Does rent paid through Chexy count as a recurring bill payment?

It depends on your issuer. Chexy sets up the charge as an automatic monthly payment, but the code transmitted by the Visa, Mastercard or American Express network sets the category on your statement. Run a first trial month and read the category shown before building your strategy on it.

Is Casa available in Quebec?

No. The Casa and Scotiabank launch release states that the platform is available across Canada, excluding Quebec. Quebec tenants use Chexy or Neobanc, both offered everywhere in Canada. Our article Casa and Scotiabank on rent follows any change to that restriction.

Does paying rent with a credit card improve your credit score?

Only if the platform reports the rent to a credit bureau. Chexy does it through Equifax with Chexy Plus, Neobanc on request, TenantPay with autopay. Card utilization matters too: a rent that pushes your balance past 30% of the limit can lower your score.

Can you pay your mortgage with a credit card?

Neobanc accepts it by credit card, at the same fee as rent. Chexy allows it too, but by debit card or bank withdrawal, at 1.75%, with 1 Aeroplan point per dollar of principal repaid. Casa and TenantPay are limited to rent and condo fees. The break-even math is the same: the card’s return must beat the fee. Partner promotions often exclude mortgage payments.

What if my landlord refuses Interac e-Transfer and pre-authorized debit?

Chexy offers a third option, bill pay, which works if your landlord is a property manager registered as a payee with the banks. Otherwise, no platform can issue a cheque on your behalf, and paying by card is not possible for that unit.

Our featured card

Annual fee
$0 $120
No annual fee the first year
Our valuation
$420
Milesopedia first-year estimateFirst-year valueWelcome bonus$300Annual fee rebated$120Total$420Rewards on your spending are not included. The calculator that adds them from your own profile is on the card's page.
Welcome offer
Up to $300
+ First Year Annual Fee Rebate
Ends Nov 1, 2026
Apply Now

on Scotiabank's website

The Scotia Momentum® VISA Infinite*+ card is recognized, year after year, as one of the best cash back credit cards in Canada. Milesopedia has even named it best cash back credit card in 2026.

Currently, thanks to this promotional offer, the Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite+ Card has no annual fee for the first year, including on additional cards. And you can get 15% cash back on all your purchases for the first three months (up to $2,000 in total purchases).

It also includes a new convenient benefit for travellers: enjoy 10 GB of free GigSky global mobile data for 15 days, as well as access to Travel Essentials to use essential apps like messaging, maps, and email while on the go. Cardholders also continue to receive 1 GB of free GigSky mobile data per year, plus a 20% discount on future GigSky purchases.

With the Scotia Momentum® VISA Infinite+ card, you get:

  • 4% cash back on grocery purchases and recurring payments
  • 2% cash back on gas purchases, public transit, carpooling, and food delivery
  • 1% cash back on all other purchases

For example, if you spend $1,000 per month on grocery purchases and/or recurring payments, you will get $40 cash back per month, or $480 per year, with this card, for this purchase category. And that’s not counting the other purchases you make with this card and the benefits it offers (including its excellent insurance coverage).

Also note that you can use your cash back at any time (the cash back balance must be at least $25).

Annual fee

Primary card$120
Additional card$50

Annual income required

Individual$60,000
Household$100,000

Conversion fees

2.5%

Earning rate

  • 4xGroceries
  • 4xBills & recurring payments
  • 4xTelecom
  • 2xGas & EV
  • 2xTransit
  • 2xStreaming
  • 1xAll spending

Value

1st Year Value$1,212
2nd Year Value$408

Card benefits

Concierge service24/7

Travel insurance

Travel medical (under 55)Up to $1,000,000 / 15 days
Travel medical (55-64)Up to $1,000,000 / 15 days
Trip InterruptionUp to $2,000
Delayed BaggageUp to $500
Lost BaggageUp to $500
Flight DelayUp to $500
Travel AccidentUp to $500,000

Purchase protection

Purchase ProtectionIncluded
Extended Warranty+1 years
Mobile DeviceUp to $1,000 / 1 years
Auto Rental CollisionUp to $65,000 / 48 days

Our editorial integrity

Our reviews and rankings are based on an objective assessment. Advertisers do not influence our content. We may receive compensation through some links; our analysis and opinions remain independent.