Best Business Bank Accounts in Canada: 8 Institutions Compared


A business bank account in Canada costs between $0 and $125 a month, depending on the institution and how many transactions the package includes. For most small businesses that bank online, a $5 or $6 digital package does the job. We checked the fees of 8 institutions on their own websites on October 20, 2026.
Our take: the RBC Digital Choice Business Account Package and the TD Business Digital Account are a tie at $6 a month, with unlimited electronic transactions and 10 Interac e-Transfers. TD adds an opening bonus through January 5, 2027. If your business is incorporated, the Wealthsimple Business Chequing Account costs nothing and pays interest.
The table below compares each institution's entry-level package, the one built for a business that does most of its banking online. Amounts are those posted by each institution on October 20, 2026, before tax.
| Account | Monthly fee | Included transactions | Interac e-Transfers included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wealthsimple Business Chequing Account | $0 | Unlimited | No fee |
| Loop Basic | $0 | Unlimited local transfers (EFT, ACH, SEPA) | Not specified |
| BMO Essential Business Account | $5 ($0 for 4 months if opened online by October 26, 2026) | Unlimited electronic and ATM | 6 |
| Desjardins Digital Plan | $5.95 | Unlimited digital, deposits charged per item | Included in digital transactions |
| RBC Digital Choice Business Account Package | $6 | Unlimited electronic | 10 |
| TD Business Digital Account | $6 | Unlimited electronic, unlimited deposit items | 10 |
| Scotiabank Right Size Account for Business | $6 | Pay per use, $1.00 to $1.25 each | Not specified |
| CIBC Basic Business Operating Account | $6 | Pay per use, $1 self-service | Not specified |
An entry-level package works as long as you deposit little cash and pay your suppliers online. Beyond that, look at the high-volume packages further down.
Before you compare prices, count your transactions in a typical month. Three numbers make the difference:
Next, check the balance you keep in the account. Several full-service packages become free above a minimum daily balance. If your business already keeps that cushion, a $75 or $100 package can cost you nothing.
Finally, think about your business credit card. Some banks rebate a card's annual fee when you hold their top package. Our ranking of the best business credit cards helps you pick the card that goes with the account.
RBC offers three packages for small businesses. The RBC Digital Choice Business Account Package costs $6 a month and includes:
The RBC Flex Choice Business Account Package costs $7 a month and works on a pay-per-use basis. It suits businesses making 5 to 75 paper transactions a month. The RBC Ultimate Business Account Package, at $100 a month, targets high-volume businesses. We cover the entry package in detail in our RBC Digital Choice Business Account review.
The TD Business Digital Account also costs $6 a month, with unlimited electronic transactions and deposit items, and 10 Interac e-Transfers a month. TD also pays an opening bonus when you open an eligible business chequing account between September 1, 2026 and January 5, 2027.
The bonus tied to the account itself is $100 for the TD Business Digital Account, and $500 for the TD Business Essential Account or the TD Business Unlimited Account. To earn it, complete 3 of these 4 actions within 120 days:
The "up to $2,400" TD advertises adds up other products: a savings account with a deposit of at least $10,000, a TD Merchant Solutions account, a line of credit and a business credit card. The bonus is not available if you already have a TD small business chequing account.
The TD Business Unlimited Account, at $125 a month, also rebates the $149 annual fee on the TD® Aeroplan® Visa* Business Card or the TD Business Travel Visa* Card.
BMO's Essential Business Account normally costs $5 a month. It includes unlimited electronic and ATM transactions, but only 6 Interac e-Transfers a month. If you send a lot of e-Transfers, the Everyday Business Account, at $25 a month, includes 15 of them with 35 transactions.
For Small Business Month, BMO waives the monthly fee for October 2026 through January 2027 when you open a qualifying account online at bmo.com between October 1 and October 26, 2026. The offer is limited to new BMO business banking clients, according to its terms.
Scotiabank takes two approaches. The Scotiabank Right Size Account for Business costs $6 a month, plus a per-transaction fee that drops with volume:
Past about fifteen transactions a month, the Scotiabank Select Account for business comes out cheaper. Its Plan A costs $20 a month for 25 transactions, 50 deposit items and 20 free Interac e-Transfers sent through Scotia OnLine. The fee is waived when you keep $20,000 in the account every day of the month.
Scotiabank also advertises up to $880 in bonuses and savings when you open a Select Account for business and sign up for Chase Merchant Services. That figure combines two parts:
For the same bank's cards, see our Scotia business credit card review.
CIBC prices its business accounts in two ways:
The basic account therefore suits businesses with very few transactions.
At Desjardins, the Digital Plan costs $5.95 a month with unlimited digital transactions. Deposits are charged per item, though. If you deposit cheques or cash every week, Transaction Plan 35 works out cheaper:
National Bank also offers business packages, which we covered in our article on the account, card and line of credit for a Quebec small business.
The Wealthsimple Business Chequing Account has no monthly fee and no Interac e-Transfer fee. It pays interest on your balance, but the rate depends on your combined personal and business assets at Wealthsimple:
Note that not everyone qualifies. Your business must be a Canadian-controlled private corporation, or a charity or association registered with the CRA. A sole proprietorship is therefore not eligible. Wealthsimple's page does not mention cash deposits.
Loop is built for businesses that buy or sell abroad. The Loop Basic plan costs $0 a month and includes U.S. dollar, euro and pound sterling accounts. Currency conversion costs 0.47%, a much smaller spread than at a big bank. Your business must be registered in Canada and have a CRA business number. Our Loop Financial review covers its plans and card.
If your business makes more than 50 transactions a month or deposits a lot of cash, entry-level packages quickly cost more than expected. Full-service packages cost more on paper, but most become free with a minimum daily balance.
| Account | Monthly fee | Daily balance for $0 | Included transactions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scotiabank Select Account for business (Plan A) | $20 | $20,000 | 25 transactions, 50 deposit items, 20 Interac e-Transfers |
| TD Business Essential Account | $35 | $45,000 | 40 transactions, 50 deposit items, 10 Interac e-Transfers |
| CIBC Unlimited Business Operating Account | $65 | $65,000 | Unlimited |
| BMO Elite Business Account | $75 | $75,000 | Unlimited electronic, 100 in-branch, 500 Interac e-Transfers |
| RBC Ultimate Business Account Package | $100 | $75,000 | Unlimited electronic, 100 paper transactions, 500 Interac e-Transfers |
| TD Business Unlimited Account | $125 | $65,000 | Unlimited, unlimited Interac e-Transfers |
Compare the required balance with what your business already keeps in the account. For example, a business that always holds $50,000 pays nothing for the TD Business Essential Account, but $100 for the RBC Ultimate Business Account Package.
Here is how we would choose, based on how you bank:
For most new small businesses, a $6 digital package at RBC or TD does the job, and TD's bonus gives it a slight edge through January 5, 2027. An incorporated business that keeps a large balance should look at Wealthsimple. A business that gets paid in foreign currencies should add Loop to its main account.
You can also compare personal chequing accounts with our chequing account comparison tool, and find the card that goes with your account among the best credit cards in Canada.
To get our analysis and offers every week, subscribe to the Milesopedia newsletter.
Our reviews and rankings are based on an objective assessment. Advertisers do not influence our content. We may receive compensation through some links; our analysis and opinions remain independent.